Capitol Records, Inc. v. Thomas-Rasset

692 F.3d 899 (8th Cir. 2012), cert denied, 133 S. Ct. 1584 (2013)

Gloria Estefan.

Prior to going to trial, Thomas-Rasset rejected a $5,000 settlement offer.

The songs that the jury found Thomas-Rasset to have infringed were:

  • Guns N Roses "Welcome to the Jungle"
  • Guns N Roses "November Rain"
  • Vanessa Williams "Save the Best for Last"
  • Janet Jackson "Let’s What Awhile"
  • Gloria Estefan "Here We Are"
  • Gloria Estefan "Coming Out of the Heart"
  • Gloria Estefan "Rhythm is Gonna Get You"
  • Goo Goo Dolls "Iris"
  • Journey "Faithfully"
  • Journey "Don't Stop Believing"
  • Sara McLachlan "Possession"
  • Sara McLachlan "Building a Mystery"
  • Aerosmith "Cryin’"
  • Linkin Park "One Step Closer"
  • Def Leppard "Pour Some Sugar on Me"
  • Reba McEntire "One Honest Heart"
  • Bryan Adams "Somebody"
  • No Doubt "Bathwater"
  • No Doubt "Hella Good"
  • No Doubt "Different People"
  • Sheryl Crow "Run Baby Run"
  • Richard Marx "Now and Forever"
  • Destiny’s Child "Bills, Bills, Bills"
  • Green Day "Basket Case"